Columbia University

... was established in 1754 as King's College, by royal charter of King George II, in reaction to the founding of the College of New Jersey (now known as Princeton University) eight years earlier.

King's College was renamed Columbia College in 1784, following the Declaration of Independence and the War of Independence. In 1896 it moved to its current location in Morningside Heights, on the West Side of Upper Manhattan, and was renamed as Columbia University.

© Haydn Thompson 2021