The Treaty of Utrecht

Under the terms of the Treaty, Spain ceded the Spanish Netherlands, Naples, Sardinia and the Duchy of Milan to the Holy Roman Empire, Gibraltar and Minorca to Britain, and (effectively) Brazil to Portugal; France ceded much of its territory in Canada to Britain. Philip of Anjou, the grandson of Louis XIV, was recognised as Philip V of Spain – but renounced his claim to the French throne.

© Haydn Thompson 2017