Quiz Monkey
What do you want to know?

You are here:

Sport Football World Cup Finals

If you like my website, and/or if you've found it useful, please consider making a small donation to my Just Giving page, which I've set up just for this purpose. To begin with I'm collecting for a charity whose work I have benefitted from myself (and continue to do so): the British Heart Foundation. It would be great to raise £100 in the first month.

If you have already donated ... Thank You!

Football: World Cup Finals


Year Host country Final venue Winners Runners–up Notes
1930 Uruguay Montevideo Uruguay 4 2 Argentina
1934 Italy Rome Italy 2 1 Czechoslovakia  
1938 France Paris Italy 4 2 Hungary
1950 Brazil Rio de Janeiro Uruguay 2 1 Brazil 1
1954 Switzerland Berne West Germany 32 Hungary
1958 Sweden Stockholm Brazil 5 2 Sweden
1962 Chile Santiago Brazil 3 1 Czechoslovakia  
1966 England Wembley England 4 2 West Germany 2
1970 Mexico Mexico City Brazil 4 1 Italy
1974 West Germany Munich West Germany 2 1 Netherlands 3
1978 Argentina Buenos Aires Argentina 3 1 Netherlands 4
1982 Spain Madrid Italy 3 1 West Germany
1986 Mexico Mexico City Argentina 3 2 West Germany 5
1990 Italy Rome West Germany 1 0 Argentina
1994 USA Pasadena Brazil 0 0 Italy 6
1998 France Paris France 3 0 Brazil
2002 South Korea / Japan Yokohama Brazil 2 0 Germany
2006 Germany Berlin Italy 1 1 France 7
2010 South Africa Johannesburg Spain 1 0 Netherlands 8
2014 Brazil Rio (Maracana) Germany 10 Argentina 9
2018 Russia  
2022 Qatar  


1Although Uruguay's victory over Brazil is often referred to as the final of the 1950 tournament, it was actually only the final game of the final group. The winners of the four first round groups played at this stage; going into the final game, Brazil were one point ahead of Uruguay and only needed to draw
2After extra time – score after 90 minutes 2–2. West Germany equalised (Weber) in the 90th minute. Geoff Hurst scored the only hat trick in a World Cup final
3Neeskens put the Netherlands ahead with a penalty in the second minute
4After extra time – score after 90 minutes 1-1
5In 1986, Mexico became the first country to host the World Cup finals for a second time. Colombia had originally been chosen as the host nation, but resigned in 1982, largely for economic reasons. Mexico was selected as the new host in May 1983
6Brazil won 3–2 on penalties. Two Italians missed, and Taffarel saved one; Pagliuca saved Brazil's first penalty (taken by Marcio Santos)
7After extra time – score after 90 minutes 1-1. Italy won 5–3 on penalties. Trezuguet missed (hit the bar); France's 5th penalty was not taken as it was superfluous
8After extra time – score after 90 minutes 0-0. Goal scored by Andrés Iniesta with 4 minutes of extra time remaining
9After extra time – score after 90 minutes 0–0. Goal scored by Mario Götze with 7 minutes of extra time remaining

© Haydn Thompson 2017